A third offense DUI in Avon is taken very seriously. At this point, the court has little to no sympathy for an offender who has been charged for the same offense several times. Consequences for a third or subsequent DUI charge are even more firm and serious than a second DUI. Third and subsequent DUI offenders are looked at by the court as unsafe to be driving on the road. You can learn more about what to expect if you face a third offense on this page.
Penalties of a Third Offense
3rd DUIs and subsequent DUIs have the following punishments in Avon:
- Up to three years imprisonment, with a mandated one-year minimum, and probation with 100 hours of community service.
- A $2,000-$8,000 fine.
- License revocation until the offender is eligible for reinstatement after two years. If the driver’s license is reinstated, driving privileges consist of only using a vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed for as long as the offender drives or until the commissioner lifts the requirement. Eligibility to have this requirement lifted starts after 15 years of ignition interlock device use.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
A revoked license can be restored by the DMV commissioner if the offender qualifies. This will only happen after it is determined that the person is no longer a danger to public safety and meets all the requirements of reinstatement. These requirements include the use of an interlock device on all vehicles that you drive, participation in a rehabilitation program, and more. If the offender’s license is restored and they complete 15 years of driving with an ignition interlock device, the commissioner can remove this requirement if good cause is shown.
§53A-40F is a statute for persistent DUI offenders in Connecticut. This states that a person is a persistent operating under the influence felony offender if they are 1) convicted of second-degree manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle, and 2) have been convicted of one of these offenses or a DUI in the last 10 years in another state. The court can give out higher prison sentences to persistent offenders. Those who have been arrested for a DUI in another state and then charged with a subsequent DUI in Connecticut will be treated as subsequent offenders.
- Factors which enhance punishments for any DUI offenders are:
- Driving with a BAC that is more than double the legal limit.
- Causing an accident while under the influence resulting in either bodily injury or death.
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license.
- Endangerment of a child.
- Fleeing the scene of the accident or fleeing law enforcement.
- Refusal to take a blood, breath, or urine test.
Only one DUI can affect a person’s life, but a third offense has large influences on employment, ability to go to school or qualify for professional licenses, a person’s reputation, and it is a financial burden. If you have been convicted of a third or subsequent DUI in Avon, it is crucial that you have a DUI defense attorney in your corner. Call Lady DUI today to get assistance.