Receiving a third Branford DUI is a very serious matter, and the court will no longer have sympathy or understanding as it relates to the defendant. Similar to how second DUI has punishments harsher than a first DUI offense, third and each subsequent DUI progressively gest punished more and more severely. On this page, you can find information about third Branford DUI penalties in Connecticut, as well as what you can do to make sure that your rights are protected.
Third Branford DUI Penalties
The punishment for a third Branford DUI are as follows: up to three years incarceration with a mandatory minimum of a year long prison sentence served, probation, 100 hours of community service, a license suspension for at least two years, and if reinstated, use of an ignition interlock system for life, and a potential $8,000.00 fine.
The Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner may restore a license after the two year period. Further, after 15 years can end your use of the ignition interlock system. To achieve this, one must show that they are no longer a danger to society behind the wheel of a car, all requirements imposed have been met and satisfied, including rehabilitation, and that there is underlying good cause for reinstatement. It is up to the Commissioner to determine if your license should be reinstated and when. The Commissioner will also be in charge of determining if you should continue using an ignition interlock device or not.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
Persistent Offenders and Aggravating Circumstances
Further, Connecticut deals with those that have offended multiple times, or very egregiously in the past, even harsher. Connecticut statute defines persistent offenders as those (1) convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle, and those who (2) have been convicted of either of these offenses, DUI, or substantially similar offenses in Connecticut or other states in the past 10 years.
This gives courts the authority to impose even greater sentences for the defendant. Also, this is the case if the person receives their 3rd or subsequent DUI with what are known as aggravating circumstances, such as endangering a minor, serious bodily injury or death, driving with double the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level, driving on a suspended license, resisting arrest, or fleeing.
Due to the significant nature of the punishments, as well as the extreme impact they will have on one’s life, it is important to have adequate representation on these matters. To speak with a Branford DUI defense attorney who has worked with third-time DUI offenders before, call Lady DUI today. Our team is happy to help.