Getting arrested for a first, second, third, or subsequent DUI in Connecticut while you are on probation, you can face many consequences, legally and personally.
1st Offense Penalties
For a first DUI, penalties are not as severe as subsequent DUIs. Penalties from the court for a first offense DUI are 1) a fine of $500-$1,000, 2) a jail sentence of either (a) no more than six months with a mandated minimum time period of two days served, or (b) no more than six months suspended with probation and 100 hours of community service, and 3) a 45-day license suspension. This suspension will be followed by one year of driving with an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
First-time offenders can take a diversionary program if they are eligible for it and if the court grants permission. The Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services will evaluate and appropriately place the defendant in an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program. In this case, the successful completion of the program allows for the charges to be dismissed.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
16 and 17-year-olds convicted of a DUI or having a BAC of 0.02% or higher have stricter penalties. After getting pulled over, the arresting officer will take their driver’s license for 48 hours, and the vehicle will be towed. To retrieve the license after the 48-hour suspension is up, the offender and their legal guardian or parent must sign a release at the police station. Youthful offender status will not be granted to DUI offenders under the age of 18 under §54-76b.
Second Offense Penalties
Second-time DUI consequences are a bit steeper than first-time DUI consequences, as a second offense cannot be seen as a one-time mistake. Punishments for those convicted of a DUI under the age of 21 are the following:
1) A fine of $1,000-$4,000.
2) A jail sentence of no more than two years with a mandated minimum period of 120 consecutive days and 100 hours of community service with probation.
3) A license suspension for 45 days or until the offender turns 21, whichever period is longer, followed by three years of driving with an ignition interlock device installed. For the first year, the driver can only drive to work, school, alcohol or substance abuse treatment program, or an ignition interlock service center.
For those offenders under the age of 18, the license suspension will be either 45 days or until they turn 18, whichever period of time is longer. No diversionary program is allowed to dismiss their charges.
3rd/Subsequent Offense Penalties
Third-time and subsequent DUI offenders are not given much pity by the court and face large consequences. At this point, the court is not happy to see the same offender in front of them for a repeated crime. Punishment for these offenders are as follows:
1) A fine of $2,000-$8,000.
2) A jail sentence not to exceed three years with a mandated minimum period of one year, 100 hours of community service with probation.
3) License revocation until the offender can apply for reinstatement after two years. If the license is to be reinstated, the driver must drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for as long as they drive. The commissioner of the DMV can remove this requirement after 15 years if good cause is shown. If a driver convicted of a DUI in Connecticut has been convicted of a DUI in another state, it will be treated as a subsequent DUI.
Persistent DUI offenders are people who are considered a “persistent operating under the influence felony offender.” This is the case if they 1) have been convicted of a DUI, or any similar offense within the last 10 years or 2) are convicted of second-degree assault or murder with a motor vehicle while under the influence. The court has the ability to grant these offenders longer prison sentences.
A first, second, or third, subsequent DUI can be a financial burden on the offender, as well as affect their employment, livelihood, and reputation, whether you are on probation on not. A DUI at any level should be taken seriously, and a DUI defense attorney can help get the best possible outcome for your case. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Connecticut, contact our office for help.