If you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Connecticut, you will receive a driver’s license suspension. This suspension will last for 45 days. If you have three or more DUI offenses, your license will be permanently revoked. In some cases, for example if you are a first time offender, you could qualify for a permit. This permit allows you to drive your car, but only to and from specific places. You can get a Connecticut work and education permits while your license is suspended.
The Need for Permits
Because of the basic need for driving, the Connecticut DMV has passed certain regulations for persons who have had their license suspended. The rules for work permits are very strict. They follow an arithmetic approach. Unless you can prove that without a work or education permit, you will suffer a significant hardship, you will not be given a work permit. The Department of Motor Vehicles will determine how serious your hardship is. You might think that your claim is serious enough to warrant a work permit. But, the DMV might feel differently.
Also keep in mind that you only get one work permit in your life. So, it is important for your lawyer to fight the DMV hearing. They should try to get your license suspension overturned so that you do not have to utilize your only permit. Despite the immediate need for a work permit, the DMV will sometimes make a person wait weeks or months before issuing it. They can deny the permit outright if a person has several notations on their driving history. In cases in which a breath test is refused, the DMV, by statute, will make a person 90 days before issuing a work permit.
Application for Special Permit
The application for the special permit to operate a motor vehicle to and from work will require you to explain where you live, where you work, the days and hours that you are employed, the distance of your commute, and the significant hardships that you experience because you cannot drive to work (i.e. you can’t pay your bills, you can’t support your family, etc.).
If you are interested in obtaining an education permit, these are also available. You will have to fill out an application for a special permit for higher education. In this application, you must list where you go to school and attach a copy of your class schedule. You should also list the length of your commute and how you will suffer if you do not get the educational permit. The hardships that you list must be significant enough to warrant a special higher education permit. In addition, you will have to complete a form for family education rights and privacy. This form can be found at your college or university.
Many states offer work permits, and the requirements to apply for permits while your license is suspended will vary from state to state. In the state of Connecticut, you will have to complete an application. This application for special permit to operate a motor vehicle to and from work will require you to explain where you live, where you work, the days and hours that you are employed, the distance of your commute, and why you feel you need a special operator’s permit, meaning that you have to explain significant hardships that you experience because you cannot drive (i.e. you can’t pay your bills, you can’t support your family, etc.).
You must send in a $100 application fee to the DMV in the form of a money order payable to the DMV or a check. If you are self-employed, you have to prove this by sending a copy of a business income return tax or tax ID card in with your application.
If you want to obtain an education permit, you will have to complete an application for special permit for higher education. In this application, you must list where you go to school, a copy of your class schedule, the length of your commute, and how you will suffer if you do not get the educational permit. The hardships that you list must be significant enough to warrant a special permit. In addition, you will have to complete a form for family education rights and privacy. This form can be found at your college or university.
All applicants should mail in their applications. A $100 application fee should also be mailed to the following address:
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, Connecticut 06161-2525
Please note that the DMV will review your driving record to ensure that you meet the following qualifications before granting the permit. To qualify, you must:
- Not be currently suspended for violating a former license suspension by driving.
- Not be a second or subsequent DUI offender.
- You cannot operate a public service or commercial vehicle.
- Have no vehicular assault or vehicular manslaughter violation.
- Have no prior evading responsibility or reckless driving conviction.
- Not be suspended for failure to pay citation or failure to appear.
Related Search Terms
- Hardship license CT
- How to get a driving work permit
- How to get a permit to drive to work on suspended license
- How to get a restricted license to drive to work
- CT DUI felony or misdemeanor
- How long does a DUI stay on your driving record in CT?
- CT DUI laws 2019
- DMV special permit application
- Driving permit for work only
- Special operator’s permit