Oftentimes, a person’s first DUI arrest is their first arrest in general, and the first time they will be dealing with the Danbury, Connecticut court system. This results in people being confused, nervous, and distressed. On this page, you can learn more about the penalties that you will face in Danbury for a 1st time DUI offense.
First Time DUI Penalties
The punishments for first time DUI include; (1) Up to six months imprisonment, mandatory minimum of two days, or six months suspended with probation and 100 hours of community service; (2) Fines between $500.00 and $1,000.00; and (3) 45 days of license suspension and one year of driving with an ignition interlock system.
However, the court will typically offer what is known as diversionary programs, as well as treatment, instead of insisting on the more harsh penalties that could be pursued by the state. This is because DUI is taken very seriously in modern Connecticut society, but the courts generally believe that a first offender deserves the benefit of the doubt.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
Alcohol Education Programs
In Connecticut, first offenders are oftentimes offered a program entitled Pretrial Alcohol Education Program if the offender meets the eligibility requirements. Those that successfully complete this course will have the DUI charge dismissed. However, by opting into this program, there are certain things required of the defendant.
These requirements include consenting to a tolling of the statute of limitations, waiving of the right to a speedy trial, involvement and completion of 10-15 counseling sessions, and participation in a victim impact panel if so ordered by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services. It is the Department of Mental Health and Services and the division within the court known as Court Support Services that do the evaluation and make the recommendation to the court about what is appropriate in this particular case.
Under 21 Consequences
Consequences for a DUI for those under the age of 21 are similar to that which was stated above, but in some significant ways, they are treated much more harshly. The BAC for those under 18 is .02%. If accused of a DUI, the driver’s license is automatically taken by the arresting officer, and a 48-hour suspension begins immediately.
After the suspension is over, the minor must be accompanied by a guardian to the police station to sign off on the license being returned to the minor. Most notably, the diversionary programs mentioned above, such as the alcohol education program, are not offered to minors because they do not qualify. Further, minors are not able to use their youthful offender defense for the crime of DUI.
It is important, when dealing with a 1st offense DUI in Danbury, to find a DUI defense attorney who can help, as the consequences may affect your life for many years. To speak with a lawyer to ensure the best possible outcome, contact Lady DUI.