How to Get a Suspended License Reinstated in Connecticut

If you are convicted of a DUI in the state of Connecticut, the DMV will suspend your license. When facing your first offense, your license will be suspended for one year. When facing a second DUI offense, your license will be suspended for one year. If you have three or more offenses, you will not be eligible for a license reinstatement. However, suspended license reinstatement is possible for anyone facing their first or second offense, so long as the appropriate amount of time has passed.

License Restoration

Towards the end of your license suspension, you will have to apply to have your license restored. You can call (860) 263-5720 if you have specific questions or you need more information about having your license restored. You will have to sign and hand in some forms concerning suspended license reinstatement. Learn more about this by calling the Department of Motor Vehicles. You should also make a formal request by mailing an application to:

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles

Driver Services Division

60 State St

Wethersfield CT, 06161– 2525

The application for having your license reinstated will cost $125. You should send this and the necessary forms to the DMV. Keep in mind that you cannot start driving again once you send in this application, even if the time period for your suspension has passed. You must first hear back from the DMV, because they are responsible for reinstating your license. Until you have been approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, you should not begin driving. If you are pulled over by the police and the DMV has not received or approved your reinstatement application, it will show up that your license is still suspended.

Insurance Company

Once you get a DUI, you should notify your car insurance company. When you are getting your license back, you should also let them know. Because a DUI will go on your permanent record, your insurance company will be able to look this information up. Your insurance might increase once the company learns that you have been convicted of a DUI. The amount of money that your insurance will be increased by will vary, but it will probably be around $3,000-6,000 per year.

If your license has been suspended, you will be able to get it restored once the suspension is over in many cases. If you have waited the necessary amount of time, there shouldn’t be a problem with your application for your license reinstatement. However, if you do not want to wait until the suspension is over to be able to drive, you can apply for a work or education permit. This will allow you to drive to and from work or school. If you need assistance with your suspended license reinstatement, you can contact me.


My name is Teresa, and I am a DUI lawyer, but that is only part of who I am. I have been practicing law in Connecticut since 2006.


My office has operators standing by 24 hours a day 7 days a week. When you need to speak to an attorney, we will be there to answer the call.


Need to get some answers but not able to make a call? Just send us a text and one of my team members will reply ASAP.


Need to reach out via Facebook? Use Facebook Messenger to send us your question.


With offices conveniently located in Stamford, Shelton, New Haven, Waterbury, and New London, we cover the entire state.


sent to you for free