In the state of Connecticut, if you are charged with committing a DUI, you might have your vehicle impounded on the spot. Your car might be simply towed. This prevents you from driving home while under the influence of alcohol. Or, in some states, it could be impounded for several years. While not all vehicles are confiscated due to a DUI charge, some are. If you are charged with a DUI, you should be aware of possible towing.
Towing Your Car
Immediately following a DUI charge, the police can have your car towed. This prevents you from driving home while intoxicated. However, in some cases, a police officer will allow another passenger in the car that has not been drinking to drive your car home. This is not always the case. A police officer generally uses his or her discretion when determining if your car should be towed or not. In the state of Connecticut, vehicle confiscation is not a penalty associated with a DUI. This means that your car might be towed on the night that you are pulled over for drinking and driving. But, you will not lose your car for an extended period of time. Your vehicle will be impounded for 48 hours, but after that you will be allowed to get your vehicle.
In Connecticut, if you are found guilty of a DUI, your license will be suspended. This means that you will not be able to drive your car. However, your car will not be confiscated in this state. In some other states, DUI offenders can have their cars confiscated. This will further punish DUI offenders and ensure that they do not drive while their license is suspended. This is generally the case for second or third DUI offenders. However, the state of Connecticut considers this to be an excessive punishment and therefore does not insist on confiscating a DUI offender’s vehicle. Keep in mind that just because you still have access to your car does not mean that you should drive it! If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you could face further penalties including a longer suspension of your license.
In most cases, your car will be impounded for the 48 hours that follow a DUI charge or arrest. However, even if you are found guilty of driving under the influence, Connecticut will not confiscate your car for an extended period of time. Keep in mind that it is in your best interest to remain off of the road until your license suspension is over.
If you need help getting your car back, fighting a license suspension, or defending yourself against a DUI, contact my office. I will stand by your side throughout this entire process and put my knowledge to work for you and your situation.