DUI Without a License

Driving with a license that has been suspended as related to a DUI is a serious situation in Connecticut. This can mean additional penalties and putting your driver's license at further risk. To learn more about the consequences as well as how you can protect yourself, check out this page.


Getting a DUI is extremely stressful and can have a negative impact on a person’s life because the consequences could be harsh and uncertain. It is also never a good idea to drive without a valid driver’s license because at any point while driving, there is a risk of getting pulled over and getting charged with unlicensed driving. The risk of getting charged with unlicensed driving increases with the increased risk of getting pulled over by police for something like reckless driving, driving while under the influence, or committing any type of motor vehicle infraction.

License Suspension Violations

Any person pulled over and arrested for a DUI while driving without a valid license will most likely also get charged with unlicensed driving. This is also the case for any other violations such as driving without valid registration or insurance or committing a motor vehicle infractions like failure to stop at a light or speeding.

The penalties of driving without a license are much less severe than those of a DUI. However, driving without a license due to a DUI-related suspension could increase the severity of the consequences. Under C.G.S. §14-215(c), there is a 300-day mandatory minimum jail time for driving with a suspended license if that suspension is related to a DUI conviction.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

If you are pulled over with a suspended license, it could make getting your license reinstated after suspension more difficult. In addition, the fines and consequences of the underlying DUI could increase. The DMV does not automatically reinstate the license at the end of the suspension period. Instead, there is an application that must be completed. The DMV has the authority to decline to reinstate the license.

If you are caught driving with a suspended license and charged with a subsequent DUI, you will face DUI charges as a second offender and also driving with a suspended license under C.G.S. §14-215(c). Additionally, the prosecutor on the case will likely be much harsher during plea negotiations due to the additional factor that the DUI occurred while the defendant was driving with a DUI-related license suspension.

Therefore, a defendant faces the potential penalties of a $1,000-$4,000 fine, incarceration of up to two years, and a 45-day license suspension. The defendant will not be eligible for a diversionary program in exchange for a dismissal. The defendant will also face penalties of a fine of at least $500 and up to $1,000 and incarceration of up to 30 days for driving under suspension. The penalties for getting a DUI while under suspension are very severe.

Preventing an Issue

There are some ways to prevent a driving while under suspension charge, and one of these is to apply for a special operator’s permit. This permit, if granted, would allow the driver to drive under suspension to and from work, school, and substance abuse treatment or classes. This would greatly minimize the risk of getting charged with driving under suspension and allow a suspended driver to resume necessary activities while facing the penalties of a DUI. For suspended drivers that are not able to obtain a work permit, it is imperative to refrain from driving. Not driving will eliminate the risk of another DUI or getting caught driving without a valid license.

Getting caught driving while under suspension or getting another DUI while under suspension are both very serious offenses and should not be taken lightly. If you have been charged with these offenses, you will need a DUI defense attorney on your side. Contact Lady DUI to speak with an attorney who will fight for you.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.