Call Text

First Offense

No matter what your personal situation, getting charged with a first-time DUI in Glastonbury can be overwhelming. This may be your first time dealing with the court system and facing penalties such as going to jail or having your driver's license suspended. We want to walk you through this process and answer any questions that you may have. Read on to learn more.

CONTACT US

A first DUI offenses are oftentimes a person’s first time dealing with the court system. As such, this could cause a lot of stress and worry. It is important to be cognizant of the fact that Glastonbury DUIs have long-lasting impacts and effects on those convicted. There are a handful of punishments that apply, and it is important to know all the best options before you. However, 1st DUIs are generally treated leniently by the court. With the help of a DUI defense lawyer, you can fight the charges and obtain the best outcome for your situation. Read on to learn more about how to defend yourself against a 1st offense DUI.

First DUI Offense Penalties

First DUI offenders face the possible punishment of (1) A jail sentence of up to six months, with two days as a minimum mandatory, (2) Probation and 100 hours of community service, (3) fines between $500.00 and $1,000.00, (4) A 45 day license suspension and use of an ignition interlock system on your vehicle for one year.

These penalties can be mitigated for first-time offenders if they are eligible and qualify for a diversionary program. To be allowed to utilize this program, called the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program, the person must be eligible by way of previous arrest history.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

They must also agree to toll the statute of limitations, waive the right to a speedy trial, must partake in 10-15 counseling sessions, an impact panel session, and any other further treatment recommended by the Court Support Services Department of Mental Health Services. This division of the court and the government agency evaluate and asses the individual and determine what government services would be most beneficial to them, and make the recommendation to the court. Commercial driver’s license (CDL) drivers are not eligible for this diversionary program.

While the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program is a good option for first-time offenders, it does have its drawbacks. You should discuss your options with a DUI defense lawyer to determine the best course of action for you.

First DUI Under 21 Consequences

The consequences change if the person is under the age of 21, when the BAC limit is .02%. The above applied to people under 21 as well, but they must also have their licenses seized immediately by the arresting agency, which after the suspension period can only be retrieved by a guardian signing off on its return in the police station. Further, people not legally allowed to drink are not eligible for the pre-trial diversionary program.

Although first offense DUI is treated much less harshly than subsequent offenses, and there may be programs available, it is still vital that you speak with a Glastonbury DUI defense attorney on the matter. To have your questions answered by a lawyer, contact us today.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.