First Offense

If you are facing your first Greenwich DUI charge, you likely have a lot of questions. On this page, we take you through many of the most important elements of the first offense DUI. You can learn more about the penalties that you are up against, the diversionary programs available to you, and what to do if you are a minor charged with DUI.


A first DUI offense can be an embarrassing and scary situation for many people, which may cause great distress. This is for good reason, as Greenwich DUI penalties are quite severe, even for a 1st offense. With that said, a first DUI can be managed and mitigated in ways that subsequent DUIs cannot. On this page, you can learn more about first-time DUIs, the penalties you face, and how to get help.

First DUI Offense Penalties

Potential punishments for a first DUI offense are: (1) A jail sentence of up to six months, (2) Probation and 100 hours of community service, (3) fines not exceeding $1,000.00, (4) A license suspension for 45 days, and (5) Use of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for one year (after the suspension, if one has been imposed, is lifted). In addition, you face penalties from the Department of Motor Vehicles, namely an additional driver’s license suspension.

Pretrial Alcohol Education Programs

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

However, in Connecticut, first DUI offenses are often offered a pretrial diversionary program called the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. If the person meets the eligibility requirements for the program, they can participate in it. Upon completion, the DUI charge will be dismissed, and the defendant will not have it go on their record. To be in this program, the defendant will need to waive the right to a speedy trial, agree to toll the statute of limitations, take 10-15 counseling sessions, submit to an evaluation by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services, and refrain from getting in trouble for a year. Oftentimes the person is required to attend a victim impact panel as well.

The division of the court known as Court Support Services and the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services handle evaluations and assessments for the court. They are generally relied upon by the courts to determine what is in the best interest of that specific defendant as they face and deal with their 1st DUI offense.

Under 21 Consequences

There are some distinctions to be made as well, if the person is under the age of 21, because for these people, consuming alcohol is illegal. As such, the legal limit of a BAC reading is .02% for those under the age of 21. A Greenwich DUI will result in an automatic loss of license, taken by the arresting office. Once the suspension is over, the guardians of the minor must go to the police station with the minor and sign out their license. Further, people under 21 do not qualify for the pretrial diversionary program discussed above. They also may not use their youthful offender status on a 1st DUI case.

Despite first DUI offenses being treated less harshly than subsequent DUIs, the penalties are still severe and could have an impact on your future. It is important to have the best options available presented to you. If you are arrested in Greenwich, you will want, and need, an attorney in your corner. To enquire about such representation, please call Lady DUI today. We are here to help.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.