Connecticut law becomes particularly harsh for third DUI offenses. This is because the court sees that interventions and penalties after a first-time or second-time DUI did not deter a person from committing a 3rd DUI offense. For this reason, the court will conclude that the person has a substance issue they are unable to manage, and they are unable to change their behavior in order to keep themselves and others safe. Facing a third DUI offense can have serious consequences, which will be discussed on this page.
3rd DUI Offense Law and Consequences
Third DUI offense laws apply to anyone with more than two DUIs, in any jurisdiction, over the past ten-year period. This is because the person is deemed to be a danger to themselves and others. The consequences for a third DUI are as follows: (1) Three years incarceration, with a mandatory minimum sentence of one year, (2) 100 hours of community service and probation, (3) A fine of up to $8,000.00, (4) A two year license suspension, (5) And if the license is reinstated, use of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle(s) for life.
The Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner is able to reinstate licenses after two years, and after 15 years may lift the requirement of an ignition interlock system. The commissioner will determine if the person is still a threat to society behind the wheel, and if they find that the person is not, usually due to treatment and other such activities, the punishment will be lifted.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
Persistent Offenders and Aggravating Circumstances
The state punishes persistent offenders, which are identified by statute as those who (1) Are convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter or assault a motor vehicle, and (2) Have been convicted of either of these offenses, DUI, or substantially similar offenses in Connecticut or other states in the past 10 years.
Under Connecticut law, these people, as well as those with aggravating circumstances in their DUI, are treated the most harshly and generally sentenced to the most jail time. Aggravating incidences can be fleeing, resisting arrest, death or serious bodily injury, risk of danger to a minor child, and a blood alcohol content (BAC) reading double the legal limit, among others.
Under Connecticut law, repeat offenders must submit to drug and alcohol assessment through the court’s support services division and undergo a treatment program, if so ordered by the court.
Third DUI offenses are treated particularly harshly by the legislature and court because it is clear in their eyes that the person is not changing their behavior and insists upon acting in a dangerous manner.
This is when it becomes extremely necessary to acquire legal representation in order to mitigate the problem and ensure the defendant has the best possible outcome. To speak with a Greenwich DUI defense attorney today, please contact Lady DUI.