When it comes to being charged with a Connecticut DUI, the most frightening possibility for most people is having to spend time in jail. Unfortunately, jail time is a potential penalty for first, second, third, and subsequent DUI offenders. However, jail time is oftentimes waived by the court for first time offenders, and it can be minimized in the case of a repeat offender in many situation. On this page, you can learn more about jail as a consequence of DUI for different DUI offenses.
Jail Penalties by DUI Offense
A first-time DUI conviction in Connecticut carries a jail sentence of up to six months. There is a mandatory minimum sentence of two days in jail or the six month sentence can be suspended if the defendant qualifies for probation and serves 100 hours of community service.
Alternatively, a person may avoid having a DUI conviction on their criminal record if they are eligible for and complete a diversionary program. This is an alternative to a conviction and will allow the defendant to avoid jail time and other DUI penalties. However, keep in mind that you need to be eligible for the program, complete all of the class sessions, and pay for the program in order for the court to accept this as an alternative.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
The jail sentence is more severe for those facing a second DUI offense. This is because the court believes that you were not deterred by your first DUI conviction, and that therefore the penalties should be more severe. For a second DUI offense in Connecticut, you face up to two years incarceration, with a mandatory minimum of serving 120 consecutive days. You may also be asked to serve probation time and perform 100 hours of community service. These penalties are the same for those both over and under 21 years of age.
Again, the penalties increase for those faced with a third or subsequent DUI charge. Once again, the court feels that the defendant did not learn their lesson from the penalties that they received for their first or second DUI. As a result, the court increases the penalties in the hopes of deterring the defendant from offending once again. The incarceration you face is up to three years with a mandatory minimum of one year served. Again, you may also face a period of probation and 100 hours of community service.
Whether you are facing a 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or subsequent Connecticut DUI conviction, you need to make sure that your rights are protected and that you can properly defend yourself. The best way to do this is to hire a Connecticut DUI defense lawyer such as one at Lady DUI. Our team has worked with all different types of DUI offenses and we have helped clients stay out of jail and take advantage of alternative penalties. In situations where jail time is mandatory, we can work to ensure that you face the minimums. To discuss your DUI situation with one of our attorneys, contact us today. We are happy to help.