Although a first offense DUI in Middletown is not treated as severely as a second, third, or subsequent DUI, it still can impact your life and reputation. Read on to learn more about 1st offense DUIs in Middletown and the potential consequences that an offender faces.
First offense DUI punishments are as follows:
- Up to six months imprisonment with a required minimum of two days, or up to six months suspended with probation instead as well as 100 hours of community service.
- A fine of $500-$1,000.
- A suspended license for 45 days with an ignition interlock device in the offender’s vehicle(s) for one year following.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
A program called the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program is offered by Connecticut law to some offenders charged with their first DUI, as long as they meet eligibility. DUI charges are dismissed once the program is completed, as the treatment for substance abuse or alcohol education will take the place of a trial. In order to proceed with the program, the offender must agree to the following provisions.
They must waive the right to a speedy trial, start the program within 90 days of the court’s grant, complete 10-15 counseling sessions in the program or a substance abuse treatment program, have further counseling if the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services orders, agree to a tolling of the statute of limitations, and take part in a victim impact panel if ordered.
Court Support Services and the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services will assess the offender to determine their eligibility for the program, as well as what program they will be recommended for.
Commercial driving license holders and offenders under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.02% are not able to take the program, along with offenders committing certain crimes such as operation or reckless operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence, or manslaughter or assault in the second degree while driving under the influence.
Minors and DUI
More severe punishments are given to first offenders of ages 16 or 17 years old. Offenders of these ages can be charged with a DUI while driving with a BAC of 0.02% or more. This will result in the arresting officer holding the driver’s license for 48 hours and a towed vehicle. To release the license after the 48 hold period, the offender must sign a release at the police department with a parent or legal guardian. DUI offenders under the age of 18 are not eligible for youthful offender status under §54-76b and will face all the punishments of a first offender DUI.
If you are charged with your first offense Middletown DUI, and you’re looking for an attorney to help your case, contact Lady DUI today. We are happy to help.