Second Offense

Facing a second DUI charge in Middletown might mean that you have an understanding of the process, but there are several differences between a first DUI charge and a second one. Check this page out to learn more about the specific penalties that you face for a second DUI charge and the nuances of a second offense case.


After being charged with a second DUI in Middletown, you probably already have some understanding of the struggle of fighting the case and how it affects your life. Second offense DUIs in Connecticut have large impacts on your future and are taken very seriously by the prosecution. This is because the state now feels that you need more severe consequences in order to take the law seriously. You can learn more about 2nd offense DUIs in Connecticut and how to protect yourself against a second charge. 

2nd DUI Consequences

Consequences for second-offense DUI offenders under the age of 21 are the following:

  1. Up to two years imprisonment with a mandated minimum of 120 consecutive days.
  2. A license suspension of 45 days or until the offender reaches 21 years of age, whichever is longer. This is followed by three years of driving only with an ignition interlock device. In addition, the first year of driving can only be to substance abuse treatment, school, work, or an ignition interlock service center.
  3. 100 hours of community service.
  4. Probation.
  5. A fine of $1,000-$4,000.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

Second DUI offenders over the age of 21 have the following consequences:

  1. Up to two years imprisonment with a mandated minimum of 120 consecutive days.
  2. Probation with 100 hours of community service.
  3. A fine of $1,000-$4,000.
  4. A 45-day license suspension. After the driver’s license is reinstated, there is a three-year period where the person can only drive using an ignition interlock device. In addition, driving for the first year after license reinstatement must only be to work, school, an ignition interlock device service center, or a substance treatment program.

What to Expect

A second DUI is looked at much differently by Connecticut courts and prosecutors as opposed to a first-time DUI since second-time DUIs are not seen as a one-time mistake. The defendant is seen less as someone who can get off with a warning, such as an alcohol education program, or someone who deserves a second chance.

Jail time is common for most second-time DUI offenders; however, it is usually suspended by the court. Defendants will most likely spend less time in jail than sentenced, the rest of the sentence will be suspended, and jail time will only continue if the offender violates probation. A lengthy probation sentence along with a fine of about $1,000 should be expected. No diversionary program will be offered to a second-time DUI offender.

Having an attorney to help fight for your case is important if you have been arrested for your second DUI in Middletown. Call Lady DUI today if you have any questions or if you’re looking for representation.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.