An arrest for a third DUI in Middletown is pretty serious. The court has little sympathy for third or subsequent defendants who show up multiple times for the same crime. The penalties for a third or subsequent offense are more severe than a second offense DUI. People with third or subsequent DUIs are seen by the court as people who are unsafe to be driving.
Third or subsequent DUI punishments are as follows:
- Up to three years imprisonment with a mandated minimum of one year.
- 100 hours of community service with probation.
- A fine of $2,000-$8,000.
- License revocation until the offender is eligible for reinstallment after two years. Once a license is reinstated, the offender can only drive with a vehicle with an ignition interlock device equipped either for as long as they drive or until a commissioner lifts the restriction after 15 years.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
A license that has been revoked is restored by the DMV Commissioner if the person is eligible. Eligibility is reached when a person is decided to no longer be a danger to public safety and has met the requirements for reinstatement, such as use of an ignition interlock device, participation in a rehabilitation program, and more. Once a driver with a restored license has been driving with an ignition interlock device for 15 years, the commissioner can remove the device requirement if good cause is shown.
In Connecticut, there is a statute for consistent offenders, which is §53A-40F. This claims a person is a “persistent operating under the influence felony offender.” A person fits this category if the person is 1) convicted of second-degree manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle, and 2) has been convicted of either offense, DUI, or similar offenses in any other state in the last 10 years. Higher prison sentences can be charged for those who are persistent offenders. Those who were charged with a DUI in a prior state and are convicted of a subsequent DUI in Connecticut will get the same treatment as a subsequent offender.
Aggravation factors that can increase punishments for any DUI offender are as follows:
- Blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than double the legal limit.
- DUI accident causing serious injury or death.
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license.
- Endangerment of a child.
- Refusal to take a urine, blood, or breath test.
- Resisting arrest or fleeing law enforcement or the scene of the accident.
Third and subsequent DUIs in Middletown seriously impact a person’s chances of employment or getting into school, their livelihood and reputation, ability to obtain professional licenses, and can be a financial burden. If you have been charged with a 3rd or subsequent DUI in Middletown, contact Lady DUI to have a DUI defense attorney by your side.