Second Offense

How do second offense New Haven DUI penalties compare to first offense DUI penalties? Here, you can see how these penalties become more severe depending on the offense. In addition, we outline some ways that you can protect yourself from a conviction and are here to help. Contact us for more information.


2nd DUI offenses in New Haven are punished more severely than first offenses. This is because the court is beginning to think that the person who has become a repeat offender does not take seriously the act of driving intoxicated or the court’s authority. If you are facing your 2nd DUI charge, the potential penalties will be more severe than they were the first time around. On this page, you can learn more about penalties as well as how to protect yourself.

Penalties For a 2nd DUI

The punishments for a second-time DUI in New Haven are:

  • Up to two years of imprisonment with 120 days mandatory to serve.
  • Probation.
  • 100 hours of community service.
  • A fine not exceeding $4,000.00.
  • A license suspension for 45 days, with three years of driving with an ignition interlock system installed on their vehicle(s) after the license is reinstated. For the first year after the driver’s license is reinstated, the driver can only travel to school, work, an ignition interlock device service center, or a substance abuse or alcohol abuse treatment program.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

The penalties for a an offender who is under the age of 21 are the same as those for a person over the age of 21. The only difference is that if a person is under 21, the person has their license suspended for 45 days or until they are 21, whichever is longer.

Protecting Yourself

While second DUIs are no longer looked at as mere mistakes by the persecution, and they do not receive the benefit of the doubt, they are not quite yet viewed as dangers to society. Although the pretrial diversionary programs are no longer available, most DUI convictions result in a suspended jail sentence. This means that if convicted of a second-offense DUI, you receive probation, and if you break probation, you then have to go to jail for the full term.

For this reason, it is important to take your probation seriously if it is granted to you. Make sure to follow the conditions of your release and avoid any new criminal charges at all costs. A new criminal charge will, in most cases, mean that your probation will be suspended, and you will have to go to jail to serve your DUI sentence.

If you are facing a second DUI charge in New Haven, the penalties will begin to mount, and it is imperative that you have someone represent you that is capable of mitigating the damage. To speak with a DUI defense lawyer who has worked with 2nd DUI offenders in the past, contact Lady DUI today.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.