3rd DUIs are handled more severely than first or second offenses in New Haven. This is because, at this point, the court and prosecution become convinced that the offender is unable to conform their behavior to acceptable societal limits. They feel that the offender has a serious substance abuse problem or has no regard for the penalties that they have previously faced. At this point, the person begins to be viewed as a danger to society at large. Learn what to do if you have been charged with a 3rd or subsequent New Haven DUI on this page.
Penalties of a 3rd DUI
Penalties for a 3rd DUI in New Haven are as follows; three years in jail with a mandatory minimum sentence of one year served, probation with 100 hours of community service, a $2,000-8,000 fine, and license revocation until the offender reaches eligibility for reinstatement after two years. If the driver’s license is reinstated by the DMV commissioner, the offender can only drive with the use of a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device for as long as the offender drives, or the requirement is lifted by the commissioner after 15 years.
In Connecticut, the commissioner may restore a license after the two year period has lapsed if they find that the offender is no longer a threat to the public’s safety. In addition, they may, after 15 years of ignition interlock device use, end the requirement of such apparatus.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
Further, in Connecticut, those that have aggravating circumstances or are considered persistent offenders can be penalized more harshly.
Persistent offenders are defined by Connecticut statute as a person convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle and someone that has been convicted of either DUI or a substantially similar offense in other states in the past 10 years. Aggravating circumstances include, but are not listed to, fleeing the scene of an accident or a crime, endangering a child, driving with double the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit (this is anything .16% or above), causing serious bodily injury or death, and more.
Also, for 3rd DUI, the court will mandate that the person submit to a drug or alcohol assessment, undergo a treatment program, and any other services requested by the court supervision services. This is to ensure that the person is adequately addressing what the court views as a severe substance abuse issue.
If you have been arrested for multiple DUIs, it is imperative that you contact a New Haven DUI defense attorney that is capable of adequately representing your interests. To do so, contact Lady DUI today.