A person convicted of driving under the influence in Connecticut could face many different types of consequences. A few of the most common are incarceration, fines, probation, community service, substance abuse treatment, victim impact panels, license suspension, and use of an ignition interlock device. Learn more here.


The following could be penalties that a person might face for driving under the influence in Connecticut.



The possible prison sentence for a first-time offender is up to six months, though this is often a suspended sentence, where the court will impose the sentence, and so long as the defendant completes all the court’s requirements and does not violate probation, the defendant will not actually serve that time in prison. The possible prison sentence for second offenders is up to two years, which the court almost always requires that the defendant partly serve and may suspend the rest. For third and subsequent offenders, the prison sentence is up to three years. If manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle also occurs, the prison sentence could be up to 10 years. The incarceration penalties are steep.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today


The fines that a first offender faces are anywhere between $500 and $1,000. Second offenders face fines between $1,000 and $4,000, and third and subsequent offenders face $2,000 to $8,000. If manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle occured in conjunction with the DUI, the fines could be up to $10,000. In addition to these court-ordered fines, there are also fines with the DMV, participation in court-ordered programs, and payments for ignition interlock devices. The fines penalties can end up costing you a lot.

Probation/Community Service

There is no probation or community service that is included in the penalties for a first offender. However, second offenders face probation time and 100 hours of mandatory community service. The probation for third offenders is 100 hours of mandatory community service.

Substance Abuse Treatment

First offenders are often offered a diversion program, First offenders are required to complete a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment program before the driver’s license is reinstated. Second offenders are not offered the alcohol education program in exchange for dismissal because they do not meet the eligibility requirements. However, second, third, and subsequent offenders must still complete a program in order for license restoration.

Victim Impact Panels

DUI defendants are often ordered by the court to complete a victim impact panel, which is usually a program called Mother’s Against Drunk Driving (MADD). The MADD program is a class that the defendant takes where victims and families of victims of drunk driving accidents speak about their experiences and the impacts that it has had on their lives. The defendant must take the class, pay the $75 registration fee, and after completion, obtain a copy of their certificate. The court usually will not order this unless the state’s attorney specifically requests it.

License Suspension

First offenders will face a 45-day license suspension when the driver is over the age of 21. Drivers under 21 will also face this suspension, but upon a DUI arrest, their license will immediately be seized by the arresting police officer and will not be released for at least 48 hours. The license suspension for second-time offenders is 45 days. Third and subsequent offenders face a permanent license revocation but may request reinstatement by the DMV commissioner after two years at a hearing showing good cause for reinstatement.

DUI offenders will also face license suspension through the DMV, pursuant to C.G.S. §14-227b for a failure or refusal of a BAC test, which is often the case in DUI. CDL drivers will face license suspension after their first DUI but will face license revocation after a second DUI.

Ignition Interlock Device

First-time offenders will need to drive with an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year after license reinstatement. Second offenders face a three-year IID requirement, and third and subsequent offenders face a permanent IID restriction after license reinstatement.

As you can see, the penalties of a DUI are vast and severe. If you have facing a DUI in Connecticut, contact Lady DUI for help.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.