Facing a Connecticut DUI is never good, but it can be especially problematic for those under the age of 21. If you find yourself in this position, read on to learn more about the potential penalties that you face and how you can protect your future by defending against these charges.


Getting arrested for driving under the influence can have serious consequences for anyone. But, when an underage driver gets caught driving under the influence, the consequences are much more severe. Connecticut has some of the strictest laws and consequences for underage drinking and driving. There is nearly zero tolerance for this type of charge.

Criminal Penalties

The major difference between underage DUIs and regular DUIs is that a person under the age of 21 can be convicted of a DUI for having a blood alcohol concentration of only .02% as opposed to .08% for those over 21. Therefore, it is much easier to be arrested for a DUI as an underage driver because it takes much less alcohol consumption to fail the breathalyzer test.

A first offense underage DUI can result in up to six months incarceration, fines up to $1,000, and at least six months of a driver’s license suspension. A second offense underage DUI can result in up to one-year incarceration, fines up to $4,000, and a one-year license suspension. Third and subsequent underage DUI charges can lead to much harsher jail times, fines, and license suspension or revocation.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

Additional Penalties

There are also other penalties that the driver can face in conjunction with the underage drinking and driver charge, including being a minor in possession of alcohol, solicitation of alcohol, and possession of false identification. Many times, these charges are a result of being pulled over after leaving a bar or a store selling alcohol.

An underage drinking and driving charge will result in an arrest, and the driver must face the court system for the criminal charge as well as the DMV for the license suspension. Additionally, many underage drivers are enrolled in either high school or college, and a drinking and driving charge can result in consequences at school.

Universities and colleges are often notified when a student is arrested or has an interaction with the local police department. When the school is notified, the school may notify the student that they are aware of the arrest and may require that the student attend a meeting or a hearing with the school board to explain their actions. A DUI arrest could result in consequences with school, such as suspension or expulsion.

Protecting Your Future

Underage DUI arrests can result in financial strain and reputational damage, but it can also result in difficulties that the defendant will face in the future, such as facing issues with taking out loans, applying to schools, and obtaining employment. A DUI conviction could prevent a defendant from obtaining professional licenses and commercial driver’s licenses, negatively impacting that defendant from maintaining or obtaining job opportunities.

For young DUI offenders, who are just starting out in the professional world, it is critical to have a clean criminal history and the ability to drive and maintain a driver’s license for school, work, and activities. If you have been arrested for an underage DUI, you will need an attorney who understands the process and the importance of minimizing the many consequences that the defendant faces. Contact Lady DUI today to find an attorney who can help you through this difficult process.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.