First Offense

Facing a first time DUI offense in New London or anywhere in Connecticut can be overwhelming. Chances are that this is your first run-in with the law in general, and you might not be sure how to proceed. That is where we come in! On this page, we answer many common questions that we get about first offense DUIs and how to defend yourself against the charge.


A first-time New London DUI charge is something that you likely aren’t expecting. Everything can happen so fast, and you might wonder how you even got arrested in the first place. While this can seem like a situation with no hope, that is far from the truth! With the right information about this crime and a good DUI defense lawyer on your side, you can minimize the damage of a 1st time DUI charge. We are here to provide peace of mind and help you fight for the best outcome for your situation.

New London First-Time DUI Penalties

If this is your first DUI, you probably are not familiar with the consequences that you may face. It is important to know what you are up against and the worst-case scenario for your situation. As such, the penalties for a 1st DUI offense in Connecticut are:

  • A fine of up to $1,000.
  • A jail sentence of up to six months, with two days of mandatory minimum service. This is one of the most daunting aspects of a DUI conviction for most people. Understandably, they don’t want to go to jail. However, keep in mind that many first offenders do not have to serve a jail sentence. The sentence can be suspended and probation can be used as an alternative. If this is the alternative that is right for you, you may also be asked to complete 100 hours of community service. However, for many people, this is preferable than going to jail. Keep in mind that if you violate your probation, you may have to serve the rest of the probation sentence in jail. Because of this, it is important to follow all rules when you are on probation.
  • A driver’s license suspension for 45 days imposed by the DMV. Check out the “DMV Process” page in this section to learn how you can fight this driver’s license suspension through an administrative per se hearing.
  • If your license is suspended and then reinstated, you need to drive with an ignition interlock device in all of the vehicles that you operate for a year. The ignition interlock device installation and maintenance fees will come out of your pocket.
  • You may face additional penalties not imposed by the court, which may include the suspension of a professional license, loss of your job, increased car insurance rates, and additional fees.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

Defending Yourself

There are many ways to defend yourself against a first offense DUI charge in New London. Working with a DUI defense lawyer is a good start in establishing the strongest defense for your case. Another option that you may have, especially as a first offender, is participating in a diversionary program. This is an option in which a DUI offender can have the charges against them waived if they successfully complete a diversionary program aimed at drug and alcohol rehabilitation. However, understand that this program can only be used once, so if you use it for a first offense DUI, you cannot use it if you are charged with another DUI in the future. A lawyer can help you determine if you should use this program or if there is a better way to handle your situation. To speak with a local DUI lawyer today, contact our office.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.