Facing a first-time DUI offense in Norwich can be a difficult experience, but facing a second-time offense may lead to more serious consequences. This is because the state may consider you a persistent offender if you have already faced one conviction before. In an effort to deter further DUIs, the state may establish more severe penalties in a second offense situation.
If you are facing a second DUI offense in Norwich, you can learn about the potential penalties that you face here, as well as the unique ways that you can defend yourself against the charges.
2nd Time DUI Penalties in Norwich
Some of the penalties that you may face if you are charged with a 2nd DUI conviction in Norwich or anywhere else in Connecticut include:
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
- Up to two years in prison, 120 days of which cannot be suspended.
- Community service.
- A fine of $1,000-4,000.
- A driver’s license suspension to last 45 days.
- For the first year after a driver’s license is reinstated, you can only drive to school, work, drug treatment, or an ignition interlock device center.
- For the first three years after your driver’s license is reinstated, all of your vehicles contain ignition interlock devices.
The penalties are a little different if you are a driver under the age of 21 facing a second DUI offense. They are mostly the same, but the potential driver’s license suspension will last 45 days or until the driver turns 21, whichever is longer. This means that your driver’s license could potentially be suspended for years.
Keep in mind that a major difference between a first time and second time DUI conviction is the likelihood of jail time. In most cases, a first DUI in Connecticut will not result in jail time. The jail sentence is usually suspended when a defendant is a first offender. However, this is not usually the case in a second offense situation. As you can see, there is a four month period of jail time that must be served if a person is convicted of a second DUI.
Defending Yourself Against This Charge
As you can see, the consequences can be serious if you face a second offense DUI. Because of this, it is important to defend yourself against a second DUI offense in Norwich. One common defense that you might be able to utilize is contesting the status of the offense as a second offense. In Connecticut, a second offense is only considered as such if it is committed within 10 years of the first offense. So, if your first offense occurred more than 10 years ago, you may be able to argue that this offense should be treated as a first-time DUI.
There are many other defenses that may be applicable to your situation. A Norwich DUI lawyer who has worked with second offenses before will know what the defenses are and which might be effective in your case. Our team of lawyers has handled second DUI offenses throughout the state as well as in Norwich. We can establish the right defense for you and fight for minimum penalties for you. Contact us to get started on your defense today.