First Offense

Facing a first offense DUI charge in Meriden can be an overwhelming experience. For many, it is their first run-in with the law, and they don't know what to expect. Protect your rights and freedom by learning more about this charge, its potential consequences, and how to defend yourself.


A first offense Meriden DUI can be a scary thing to go through. Facing a criminal charge is probably not something that you have bargained on in your life, but now that you face a first offense DUI, you need to be proactive in protecting yourself. The best way to do this is by informing yourself of the charge and penalties that you face and seeking help in defending your rights and your freedom. You can learn how to do both on this page.

What is a First Offense DUI?

In the state of Connecticut, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs to a certain point. The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration for adults is .08%, while it is .02% for those under the legal drinking age. Because Connecticut has a zero tolerance policy, any trace of alcohol consumed by a person under 21 years of age puts them in jeopardy of facing a DUI charge. If the police can prove that your BAC was over the legal limit while you were operating a motor vehicle, you will likely be charged with a DUI.

There are certain questions that are up for debate, such as what “operating a motor vehicle” legally means. In some cases, a person can be charged with driving under the influence even if they were not technically driving. Just being in the driver’s seat of a car may be enough to constitutive “driving.” This is the kind of thing that can be contested by a good DUI lawyer.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

First Offense Consequences

In most cases, a first offense DUI in Connecticut is considered a misdemeanor offense. However, it still carries significant penalties. Most alarmingly for many people is the potential jail time penalty. A first offense DUI carries a jail sentence of up to six months, but in most cases this penalty is suspended. However, you could have to pay a fine of up to $1,000 in addition to court fees. You may have to go on probation, participate in an alcohol education program, and you face a driver’s license suspension imposed by the DMV. While this is not the end of the world, a suspension of your driver’s license can have consequences for your personal and professional life. It can be an inconvenience to get to work, school, or just to get around if you can’t drive. This inconvenience may last a few months before you can request to have your license reinstated.

However, for some people, a license suspension is more than just an annoyance. If you drive for a living, your job may be in jeopardy if your license is suspended. The good news is that a first offense license suspension is fairly short, and a first offense will likely not result in the permanent revocation of your license. But, keep in mind that upon the restoration of your license, you will likely need to drive with an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for a period of time.

The Help You Need

If you have been charged with a first offense DUI in Meriden, you need a local DUI lawyer to help you through the process. That is where the team at Lady DUI comes in! We have seen these cases before and know how to help you get the best outcome given your situation. Call us today to learn more.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.