Two significant problems on the road are DUIs and hit and run accidents. Combined, hit and runs and driving under the influence make up roughly half of all traffic fatalities in Connecticut. Of the 220 traffic fatalities that occurred in Connecticut in 2011, 92 were caused by drunk drivers. Ten deaths were caused by hit and run drivers (with more hit and run accidents causing injuries on the road). Due to the prevalence of drunk driving and hit and run accidents, Connecticut has put serious penalties in place in order to punish these crimes.
In the state of Connecticut, DUI penalties can be severe. For a first offense, you face a prison sentence of between two days and six months. Also, you face a fine of $500-$1,000. You also face 100 hours of community service, up to six months of probation, and a 45 day license suspension. This license suspension is followed by one year of participation in the ignition interlock device program.
Second offenders face a jail sentence of between 120 days and two years and a $1,000-$4,000 fine. They also face probation, 100 hours of community service, and a 45 day license suspension. The license suspension is followed by three years of participation in the ignition interlock device program.
Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!
A third or subsequent offense carries even greater consequences. You will receive a jail sentence of 1-3 years, with probation and 100 hours of community service, a fine of $2,000 to $8,000, and a revocation of your license. You will not be eligible for reinstatement for at least two years.
If your license is reinstated, you must use an ignition interlock device on your car for the rest of your life, unless you make a plea to the Commissioner, who can lift the requirement after 15 years. Keep in mind that you have the right to refuse any test that the police officer asks you to take. However, if you are convicted and you refused to take the test, the punishment will be greater than if you agreed to the test.
Hit and Run
Connecticut hit and run penalties should also be taken seriously. As a driver, you have an obligation to stop your vehicle if you cause an accident resulting in an injury. You must give the other driver your information (such as your name, address, license and registration information, etc.) and help the injured party to get medical attention if necessary. Neglecting to do this is considered evading responsibility, and it is against the law.
If you are unable to stop for some reason, you still have a responsibility to report the accident to the police in the event of death or injury. If you do not report this information, you face a 1-10 year prison sentence and/or a fine of up to $10,000. The punishments for a hit and run accident are less severe if the injuries caused are less serious, however, you will still be subject to penalties imposed by the state.
If you are charged with DUI and a hit and run, you have a right to defend yourself. Contact our team to see how we can get to work for you. We are happy to answer your questions, provide additional resources, and establish the right defense for the situation that you find yourself in. For more information, contact us.