Call Text

First Offense

What happens to a person if they face a first time Branford DUI charge? First, it is important to understand that a first DUI arrest is the least serious of the DUI offenses and you can likely avoid jail time or even a conviction. Learn more about potential penalties and alternatives on this page.

CONTACT US

A first Branford DUI offense, despite not being treated as harshly as subsequent DUIs in Branford, still creates some pretty significant exposure to criminal liability and can cause issues for anyone facing the charge. On this page, you can learn more about 1st time DUIs in Connecticut, the penalties that you face, the alternatives, and how to defend yourself.

The penalties for a first Branford DUI offenses include up to six months imprisonment, a fine not to exceed $1,000.00, probation, 100 hours of community service, a 45-day license suspension, and one year use of an ignition interlock system once the license suspension is complete.

Alternative Dispositions For First Branford DUI

However, Connecticut law provides for a pretrial diversionary program for those that qualify. If this program is offered and completed successfully, the charges are dismissed.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

To achieve what is best for the defendant, the court will ask that the defendant meet with the Department of Mental Health Services and the division of the court known as Court Support Services. At the time, these entities will make a recommendation to the court about what would be most appropriate for that defendant. This diversionary program is not offered to all offenders.

1st DUI and Minors

As it relates to minors, as mentioned above, they are not eligible for the pretrial diversionary program, as they do not qualify. Also, the blood alcohol content (BAC) for these drivers is not .08% but instead, .02%. Also, the police officers will take the youth’s driving license when the arrest occurs, and it will not be returned until the suspension lapses, and a guardian goes to the police station with the minor and signs out the license.

A first Branford DUI is a serious charge, but it is manageable, particularly in the correct hands. It is important to have a DUI defense attorney on your side, fighting for your rights and defending you. To have your questions answered, get additional resources, and determine the best defense for your situation, contact Lady DUI. Our team is happy to help.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.