First Offense

Don't be overwhelmed by a first time Bridgeport DUI charge. Instead, arm yourself with the information listed below. It is also a good idea to discuss your situation with a lawyer. A Bridgeport DUI defense lawyer can advise you on the best way to proceed given your situation.


The first time that you are arrested for a Bridgeport DUI can be overwhelming. One minute you are enjoying a night out in Bridgeport, and the next you are at a police station being charged with a crime. This kind of jarring experience would be stressful for anyone! However, there are ways that you can minimize your stress and put yourself in the best position to protect your rights. Learning more about what you face if charged with a first offense DUI is one way to protect yourself. Another is hiring a Bridgeport 1st offense DUI defense lawyer. You can learn more about both of these things here.

Penalties That You Face

It is important to know what you’re up against if you are accused of a first time DUI in Bridgeport or the surrounding area. The penalties that you face are as follows:

  • A maximum jail sentence of six months, with a mandatory minimum of two days. Alternatively, you could serve six months on probation and perform 100 hours of community service. Keep in mind that it is common for jail sentences to be suspended for first time offenders.
  • A fine of up to $1,000. This is along with court fees and any other related fees, such as getting your car out of an impound lot, attorneys fees, increased car insurance rates, etc.
  • A driver’s license suspension for 45 days. In some cases, it might be possible to get a special permit to drive to and from work or school. You can look into this further with the help of a lawyer.
  • Once your driver’s license is reinstated, you need to drive with an ignition interlock device installed on all vehicles that you operate for a year.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

For minors, the law is stricter because it is illegal for those under the age of 21 to drink. So, if you are under 21, the legal BAC is .02%, as opposed to .08% for those over the age of 21. Penalties may differ as well for minors or for those who are under 21.

There is Hope!

All of the consequences listed above could make you feel like there is no hope in your case. However, there certainly is hope, especially for a first offense. Connecticut offers diversionary programs which you may qualify for. If you do qualify, you could participate in a diversionary program in exchange for having your DUI charge dismissed. There are pros and cons to using diversionary programs, so make sure to discuss the option with a DUI defense lawyer before making a decision.

It is a good idea to have a Bridgeport DUI defense lawyer on your side to help minimize the penalties that you might face or have the charges dropped altogether. A good DUI lawyer will be able to poke holes in the prosecution’s case and may be able to have certain evidence against you thrown out of court. A lawyer can also weigh your options with you and advise you on the best option for your situation. To speak with a lawyer today, contact us.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.