Second Offense

Facing a second DUI offense in Bridgeport can be very different from the first offense. The stakes are higher this time around because the penalties are more severe. In addition, defenses that were available to you when dealing with your first DUI may no longer be appropriate for your situation. The best thing that you can do if you find yourself in this situation is contact a second offense DUI defense lawyer.


Facing a second offense DUI in Bridgeport or anywhere else in Connecticut may seem like a nightmare. You never thought your first offense would happen, and here you are with another potential DUI on your record. While you have already been through the court and DMV process if you faced a first offense DUI, there are some differences the second time around that you should understand as you proceed with your case. We outline all of the penalties that you might face for a second offense Bridgeport DUI on this page. If you need further assistance, don’t hesitate to reach out to our office.

Why Are Penalties Different?

The types of penalties that you face for a 2nd DUI are the same as they were the first time around; however, you do face higher penalties for a second charge. This is because the legal system now sees you as a persistent or repeat offender. It may have been easier to justify leniency when the court thought that you made a one-time mistake. However, a second arrest indicates to the court that you did not learn your lesson. In an effort to prevent a third or subsequent offense, they increase the penalties.

As a second time DUI offender, you can expect to face the following penalties:

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today
  • A maximum prison sentence of two years, up from six months for a first offense. In addition, 120 days of this prison sentence are mandatory, up from the two days of mandatory sentence served for a first offense. In some cases, the mandatory minimum can be suspended and you could face 100 hours of community service as well as probation instead.
  • A maximum fine of $4,000, up from $1,000 for a first offense. Of course as you already know, you may deal with additional fees from the court, your attorney, or your car insurance company.
  • A maximum 45 day driver’s license suspension, which is the same penalty for a first offense. However, the ignition interlock device requirement increases for a 2nd offense. For a 1st offense, you face a year of ignition interlock use once your license is reinstated. For a 2nd offense, you face three years of ignition interlock use. In addition, for the first year after your license is reinstated, you can only drive to treatment, ignition interlock device centers, work, and school. If you are under 21 and are convicted for a 2nd time, you will lose your driver’s license for three years.

Getting Help From a Local Lawyer

Since you have already been through this process once, you may think that you know how it goes and that you can handle it on your own. However, this is not the case. While you understand the general process, keep in mind that each DUI is different. The defenses available to you this time will likely differ from those that you used in your first DUI. In addition, the stakes are much higher. There are significant fines and jail time on the table, and you want to minimize them as much as possible. The best way to navigate this situation is to contact a Bridgeport DUI defense lawyer who has worked with second offense cases before. At Lady DUI, we have done just that. Call us now for the representation that you need.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.