Third Offense or Subsequent

In Windsor, a third or subsequent DUI charge can carry more serious consequences than a first or second DUI conviction. You face a lengthier prison sentence, higher fines, and even the revocation of your driver's license. The state may consider you a persistent offender at this point, and aggravating factors could impact your case. Learn more here.


Connecticut law becomes especially harsh for third and subsequent DUI offenders. This applies to DUIs in any state that have happened in the last ten years. Unfortunately, courts and prosecutors view this as a pattern of troubling behavior and become increasingly less forgiving. The penalties can be much more severe for a 3rd or subsequent Windsor DUI than they are for a 1st or even 2nd offense. On this page, you can learn more about third-time offenses and the consequences that you may face. You can also learn about how to protect yourself.

Penalties For Third/Subsequent Offense

The consequences for three or more DUIs in Connecticut is as follows:

  • Up to three years incarceration with a mandatory minimum of one year.
  • Fines not to exceed $8,000.00.
  • Probation and 100 hours of community service.
  • A license suspension for two years, and once lifted, use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for life.

Call us today to schedule a free consultation with my team. Hope will not fix your Connecticut DUI charge. Contacting us can!

Call Today

Once the two years have elapsed, the DMV Commissioner has the right to reinstate a driver’s license. Further, after 15 years, they may lift the interlock requirement. It is up to the Commissioner to continue or lift a license suspension or IID requirement. The Commissioner will determine if the person is still a danger to themself and others operating a vehicle.

Aggravating Factors

In Connecticut, some people are punished the most severely for DUI offenses. This is the case for those who are considered persistent offenders or those who have DUIs with aggravating circumstances. Persistent offenders are those that, (1) Are convicted of 2nd-degree manslaughter or assault with a motor vehicle, and (2) have been convicted of either of these offenses, DUI, or substantially similar offenses in Connecticut or other states in the past 10 years.

Aggravating circumstances can be, but are not limited to, fleeing the scene, resisting arrest, having a BAC double the legal limit, DUI resulting in severe injury or death, endangerment of a child, and so forth. This is where jail sentences are to be expected if the prosecution can prove its case.

If you have been arrested for a third or subsequent DUI, it is very important you have legal representation. The penalties are very severe for a 3rd or subsequent Windsor DUI, and you need to make sure that you can present the best defense possible in court and mitigate the penalties that you face. The best way to do this is to find a DUI defense lawyer to represent you. Find a lawyer who has worked with multiple DUI offenses, such as those on our team. For more information, contact us today.

Get A Copy To Your Inbox

Get your free copy of Teresa's eBook on surviving a Connecticut DUI. Delivered right to your inbox.

Free Case Evaluation

Give us a little information about your situation and schedule your free case evaluation. We can have a consultation over the phone, via Skype or Zoom or we can meet at one of our convenient offices across Connecticut.